Join us ...
We're restoring more than a building

St. John's Chapel (est. 1839) got new life in May 2006 when the Rt. Rev. Edward L. Salmon Jr., XIII Bishop of the Diocese of South Carolina, pledged that it would be "blessed, restored and rebuilt" to serve as a spiritual hub for people in Charleston's 1.4-square-mile Eastside community.

The chapel started in 1839 as a place to spread the Gospel to Charleston's poor. After serving in various community capacities for almost 150 years, the chapel closed in 1986.

Today, there's a four-phase plan (mission; goals) that you're invited to join to help return the chapel into becoming a vibrant part of Charleston's spiritual life:

First Phase - Chapel, Sacristy, offices

  • Chapel and Sacristy
    • Opened July 2007
  • Educational Building (1st floor)
  • Restore the Administrative offices/Ministry offices/Board room
    • Opened August 2007
  • Hallway (floors and ceiling) and sprinkler system
    • Opened September 2007
  • Painting of the church building (external)
    • Completed September 2007
  • Windows completed
    • Completed October 2007
  • Complete HVAC
    • Projected date: September 2007

Second Phase - Church Building

      • Opened July 2008

Third Phase - Second floor

  • Educational Building (the African American Family Center for Biblical Dialogue)
    • Opened: November 2008
  • Intimate Prayer Chapel

Fourth Phase - Gymnasium/Youth Complex

      • Projected opening: September 2014



Contact us

18 Hanover Street | Charleston, SC 29403
P.O. Box 21832 | Charleston, SC 29413

Telephone: 843-720-3603
Facsimile: 843-720-3602
Email:
dhw_jr@bellsouth.net

The Rev. Dr. Dallas H. Wilson, Jr.,
Vicar

The Rt. Rev. Mark J. Lawrence,
Bishop XIV, The Diocese of South Carolina


Resources

For Diocesan Information, please click here.

For driving directions to the “Chapel”, please click here.

For Terminology, please click here.

Episcopal Lectionary Page, please click here.

© 2007-2011, St. John's Chapel, Charleston, S.C. All rights reserved.